Make your own free website on

Negeri Sembilan was settled between the 15th and the 16th century by the Minangkabau people
of West Sumatra who migrated to the region during the height of the Malay Sultanate in Malacca.

The Minangkabau brought along with them a rich cultural heritage which is still preserved
and practised today as the fascinating ‘Adat Pepatih’, a matrilineal system of inheritance and administration that is unique to the State.

In its early history, Negeri Sembilan as a unified State did not exist. It was rather a
loose confederation of nine fiefdoms which developed in the secluded valley of the
region. It was only in 1773 when Raja Melewar became the Yam Tuan that the
fiefdoms of Sungai Ujong, Rembau, Johol, Jelebu, Naning, Segamat, Ulu Pahang,
Jelai and Kelang were brought together under his rule.

The history of modern Negeri Sembilan began with British intervention
in the districts of Sungai Ujong, Rembau and Jelebu. In Sungai Ujong,
the British intervened to stop the conflict between DatoKelana
and Dato’ Bandar which was affecting the tin trade along
Sungai Linggi (Linggi River). The British supported
DatoKelana and appointed W.A. Pickering as the
British resident in 1874.

By 1889, a treaty was made between
the Yam Tuan Seri Menanti and
the four Datuk Undang wherein
the Yam Tuan was installed
as the ruler of the state of
Negeri Sembilan
. The same
year saw the appointment
of the first British
Resident of
Negeri Sembilan,
Martin Lister.



Negeri Sembilan is mainly an agricultural state. However, the establishment of several industrial estates enhanced the manufacturing sector as a major contributor towards the state’s economy.
Agricultural activity includes rubber and oil palm plantations, livestock, fruit orchards and vegetable farming. About 309,850 hectares are used for rubber and oil palm plantations.
Manufacturing activity includes electrical and electronics, textiles, furniture, chemicals, machinery, metalworks and rubber products. The main industrial areas are Senawang, Sungai Gadut, Tuanku Jaafar Industrial Park, Nilai and Tanah Merah in Port Dickson. Total area under the industrial sector is 2,015 hectares.

Negeri Sembilan, located in the central region of Peninsular Malaysia, is bordered in the north by Selangor, in the east by Pahang and in the south by Melaka and Johor. Covering a total area of 6,645 sq km, the land comprises of picturesque valleys and plains amidst undulating hills and mountains. As the Titiwangsa mountain range of the Peninsula tapers down towards the interiors of Johor, the mountainous and forested terrain of the eastern part of the Negeri Sembilan gradually give way to the gentler, undulating rubber and oil palm plantations of the west region.


Warm, sunny days and cool nights all year round with occasional rain in the evenings. Temperature ranges from 23°C to 33°C . Humidity usually exceeds 82.3%. Annual rainfall is 2,670 mm. Although rain falls throughout the year, September to November are said to be the wettest months.