Make your own free website on
Negeri Sembilan was settled between the 15th and the 16th century by the Minangkabau people of West Sumatra who migrated to the region during the height of the Malay Sultanate in Malacca. The Minangkabau brought along with them a rich cultural heritage which is still preserved and practised today as the fascinating ‘Adat Pepatih’, a matrilineal system of inheritance and administration that is unique to the State. In its early history, Negeri Sembilan as a unified State did not exist. It was rather a loose confederation of nine fiefdoms which developed in the secluded valley of the region. It was only in 1773 when Raja Melewar became the Yam Tuan that the fiefdoms of Sungai Ujong, Rembau, Johol, Jelebu, Naning, Segamat, Ulu Pahang, Jelai and Kelang were brought together under his rule. The history of modern Negeri Sembilan began with British intervention in the districts of Sungai Ujong, Rembau and Jelebu. In Sungai Ujong, the British intervened to stop the conflict between Dato’ Kelana and Dato’ Bandar which was affecting the tin trade along Sungai Linggi (Linggi River). The British supported Dato’ Kelana and appointed W.A. Pickering as the British resident in 1874. By 1889, a treaty was made between the Yam Tuan Seri Menanti and the four Datuk Undang wherein the Yam Tuan was installed as the ruler of the state of Negeri Sembilan. The same year saw the appointment of the first British Resident of Negeri Sembilan, Martin Lister.